Sea Hares may save Florida’s Algae Problem.

We have a giant problem here in Florida with algae from the big lake.

Crafty Surf = Crafts + Surf

Honestly, I went through grad school in Oceanography, and although I’ve seen plenty of sea slugs and nudibranches while diving, I’ve never had the pleasure of encountering a Sea Hare. At least, I don’t think so, since they resemble sea rays as they glide through the water. Now, every time I surf, I’m looking for them in the ocean like a digital Pokemon after reading this article:

Rare Sea Hare washes ashore in Cocoa Beach

Sea Slugs and Nudibranches are beautiful creatures, and they have and wonderful knack off being sweet little algae vaccums, of which we are in desperate need right now. Especially with the emergency in South Florida.

Sea Hare Common Sea Hare

Through this article, I discovered the most wonderful, comprehensive site on sea slugs I’ve ever seen here:

Sea Slug Forum!

I have NO affiliation with this site, I’ve just become enamored with the beautiful pictures of these…

View original post 30 more words

About Living Soils

Take care of the soil and it will take care of you! I work with beneficial bacteria and beneficial fungi in agriculture, farming and gardening. Sometimes called biofertilizers, microbes are an important part of healthy, living soils.

Posted on July 12, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

